happy go lucky wedding


Cakes!
May 25, 2009, 10:01 am
Filed under: uncategorized

Ok for some reason I had a hard time finding inspiration for cakes that I like. I think that’s partially because I couldn’t decide if I wanted round or square tiers.  I figured I would start searching and saving any that I thought appealed to me in some way. 

cake2

Project Wedding

cake3

Project Wedding cake5

Source

cake1

Project Wedding

Do you see that last one, it’s square and round!! Thus solving my dilemma of having to pick just one.  All of these appear to have fondant on them, which I really don’t want. 

Well, so recently we went to a cake tasting and it was awesome, and obviously delicious.  We are using Audrey for our cakes, and I couldn’t be more excited!  I guess you’re probably wondering what we picked… Well, the dilemma between the round and square layers continued up until I got to the tasting, but I did always have that square and round cake in my mind. 

Well, so did Audrey.  She drew some sketches for us and even had some styrofoam cake layers to help us see what it would all look like.  So we decided on doing one with a square bottom layer and 2 round layers on top.  It will be smooth like that one (but no fondant) and I’ll provide the ribbon, and our Audrey will make some sugar flowers like these.

image001

{Source}

We picked french vanilla with a vanilla buttercream filling and buttercream frosting on the outside.  Now I’m searching for some square pedestal cake stands.  I found this one from Crate and Barrel that I like.  But there’s no harm in continuing to search.

ChelseaFootCakePedestalS9Source

And for the groom’s cake we will put a picture stamp of Mr. Fro Yo’s favorite sports radio station. I told him I think it will look like we work at the radio station or that the radio station donated the cake, but this is the one thing that he’s wanted to pick and he’s actually really excited about it.    So I’m going to let it go. For this one, we went with double chocolate with chocolate buttercream and raspberry filling.  Yum!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love this last one…the square and the round.

Comment by Skye




Leave a Reply

