happy go lucky wedding


An 18 year old mistake
June 28, 2009, 8:59 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

You’re probably wondering what the hell I’m going to talk about with that title, but I promise it connects to the wedding. When I was 18 I decided that I wanted a tattoo. It wouldn’t have mattered what anyone said to me, I was doing it. I even went alone to get it done because I didn’t want anyone to try to talk me out of it. Which probably means on some level I knew I might regret it. Well fast forward 10 years later and I HATE it. I’ve hated it for quite a while too. It’s not that it’s gigantic, in fact its probably about the size of a quarter, but that doesn’t change my disdain for it. Do you hear what I’m saying 18 year olds?? DON’T! I know it probably won’t matter what I’m saying, but everyone I know that got a tattoo at 18 regrets it, so if you decide to do it, just know that. Anyway, so this tattoo is a source of stress for me for the wedding. Why? Well it’s on my shoulder in plain view for everyone to see, and I imagine people being distrated from my gorgeous dress and sweet details and staring at my horrible tattoo.

Ugh. So what’s a girl to do? Well, I’ve thought about using tattoo cover up make up.

make up

Source

But I really worry about it sweating off, or getting on my dress or veil, or even not providing enough coverage.

I’ve even considered bandaids because they seem like  a less distracting choice than the tattoo itself.

BandAids

Source

But they’re still unsightly.  At least I wouldn’t have to worry about them rubbing off and staining my clothes.

And then recently I started to look on etsy and found some super sweet boleros that maybe I could wear for the ceremony in addition to the bandaids or make up.  Here are some that I love from bonzie:

bolero

bolero1

bolero2

bolero3

And then I found these from Rohm, also on Etsy

bolero4

bolero5

bolero6

So what do you think?  Boleros too much just to cover up a tattoo?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh – keep me posted on what you decide! I am also trying to figure out what to do. mine is on the back center of my kneck, so I may just opt for at least part of my hair down to cover it. Let me know what works for you! (PS – i would lean towards makeup)

Comment by Ashley

You crack me up 🙂 But really, there was a show about this on We or something like that. I will try to find it and send it to you!

Comment by Amy

Have you thought about having it removed since you hate it? Maybe you could get in on one of those gang tat removal programs 🙂 If not, I think makeup is a good option…they have really intense stuff that is waterproof and won’t mess up your dress. Of course, I also love the bolero too.

Comment by Kim

We certianly come from different camps but I have a regretful tattoo too. My solution was more tattoo! still I think you will appreciate the story. It’s a love story that ends in marriage and a baby so it even ties in with your blog. check it out.

http://popnbottles.wordpress.com/2009/07/08/tattoos-worth-the-pain/

Comment by jspooner




Leave a Reply

