happy go lucky wedding


Bridal Pressure
December 13, 2009, 10:45 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

Today I logged onto The Knot to see that my wedding is just a little over 100 days away, and the panic set in.   Then I decided to click on my To Do List, and a page opened up with a lot of alarm clocks indicating that I have not accomplished many of the items on my checklist.   Many of them were about the traditional tasks such as ordering tuxes for the guys or deciding on the perfect accessories for my maids, but the first one staring back at me said: Start taking better care of yourself. Get in wedding day shape by eating right, joining a gym, and/or even hiring a personal trainer.  So basically, I’m a fatass and need to be sure I get skinny quick for my wedding. 

Source

I get it, we all want to look amazing on our wedding day, but the pressure to be thin and look perfect for our weddings is overwhelming.  I even found a study published in Science Direct  about this very thing.  The article indicted that over 50% of participants planned to lose weight before the wedding, 40% intended to go on a diet, and around 67% indicated that they planned to exercise more.  Sadly, more than 10% of participants were told by others that they should lose weight for the wedding.  Both brides and bridesmaids said that looking good for the wedding photos was their number one reason for wanting to lose weight.

After reading the Knot checklist, I took a long hard look at myself in the mirror and started noticing all my flaws.  I’ve already had body issues; but really, who doesn’t?  It’s extremely hard for me not to buy into the need to be skinny, especially because my wedding is rapidly approaching.  I’m healthy, I do something physical everyday, but for some reason that doesn’t seem to be enough for my wedding.  I’m feeling the pressure (mostly from myself) to lose major weight and get rid of all my problem areas. 

I decided that I need to reframe my way of thinking and focus on being healthy and happy about my body, but I know this will be a challenge for me.  Anyone else feeling the pressure to be thin? How do you handle it?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Kels – actually my goal is to slim down for your wedding! Finals have not been kind to my waistline so I have a far ways to go but I think that you’re beautiful and shouldn’t worry about yourself.

Comment by Laura McFarlane

I will be trying to lose weight for your wedding. I am going to do what I did last year at this time for mine…make better choices. It worked! And I drank wine the entire time 🙂

Comment by Amy




Leave a Reply

