happy go lucky wedding


Changing It Up
December 15, 2009, 7:21 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

If I was one of my vendors, I would probably be frustrated with me.  See, I am one of those people who doesn’t know how to say no.  Like ever.  But really I have an opinion; I  am just too scared of hurting people’s feelings to voice it. 

Let me give you an example: Say I have a vision in my head for my flowers, and I’m trying to communicate that to my florist, but then she suggests something that sounds awesome, but maybe isn’t the actual direction I’m hoping to go.  Doesn’t matter. I can’t tell her no.  Why?  Well, I don’t want to hurt her feelings.  That sounds so irrational, but it’s the truth!

Well, yesterday I decided I was going to email Kristen and ask for a change.  See, in the beginning she recommended using trumpet vases for some of our centerpieces (those that won’t be manzanita). 

Source

Sounds lovely, right?  But, I wanted something more quaint, less grand. Like this:

Source

I asked her yesterday in this very mousey email (no offense, Mouse!) “Um…do you think maybe we might be able to change the vases for the centerpieces?  I mean, I love the trumpet ones, but um…I sort of kind of  like a different kind better. But, I mean, you’re the expert, so yeah, if you think that would look terrible, just let me know, I mean you would know better than me.”   OMG, I’m so lame!!  But she wrote me back and was like, “Of course we can work in what you like!”  Phew!  Why couldn’t I do that in the beginning?

Do you have a hard time speaking up about what you want?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

