happy go lucky wedding


Envelope Project
December 27, 2009, 7:15 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

Several weeks ago I received my envelopes from my awesome invitation designer.  She had them ready so she sent them to me while she was working on printing the invites.  This was great for me because it gave me some time to decorate them before the invitations arrived. 

I decided long ago never to walk in anyone’s shadow…er….sorry, any Whitney Houston fans?  Anyway, I decided long ago that I was going to do something to decorate the envelopes, but I was really nervous about making my own envelope liners.  Primarily because I’d seen so many amazing ones around the hive; I was worried mine wouldn’t measure up and that I wouldn’t be able to pull it off.  Well, I’m here to tell you that seriously, anyone can do this, even the non-crafty bride. 

So I went to Michael’s and picked up some supplies.  I got some scrapbook paper for my liners (not sure what anyone else uses, but it was cheap, big and the right color), glue stick, and doublesided tape. 

I went home and made myself a template to use for all the other liners:

(not the pattern I used, it was scrap paper)

Then I traced out 3 liners per scrapbook paper sheet:

I cut out each one (don’t have a picture of that), and then applied the doublesided tape to the top, and the glue to the rest:

(if you look closely you can see the doublesided tape right around the top “roof” part).

Then I inserted each one and rubbed it to make sure the adhesive would stick, and here’s what I got:

I have several different patterns, but each one fits with my color scheme.  I am super excited about how this project turned out, and I would highly recommend that if you are thinking about doing this, go for it!  It was a very cheap project and I think it adds some great detail. 

Did you decide to make your own envelope liners?  How did your project turn out?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

