happy go lucky wedding


Beauty Tried and True: Part 3
January 10, 2010, 10:03 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

Now we’ve tackled the environment, aging, tightening of pores, and acne.  What’s next?  Puffy eyes. 

There is no part of your face that gives away more about you than your eyes.  They express emotion, you can smile with them like Tyra, they can display the puffy remains of too much boozing, or the all-nighter you pulled for work or schoool.  There are two tricks you probably already know about to disguise tired eyes–cucumber slices and MASSIVE sunglasses, but massive sunglasses might not be the way to go for your wedding.  The final two tricks I have are part of a little group I like to call Baked Potato Beauty.

What you need:

  • 1/2 raw potato
  • 1 tsp moisturizer

Instructions:

Peel potato and grate finely. Measure 2 teaspoonfuls of the grated potato into the teaspoon of moisturizer. Mix well. Apply liberally around eyes, and cover with damp cotton pads or gauze. Let rest 10 minutes. Rinse with cool water.

I got a lot of slack from everyone for not posting my tomato-faced picture, so I’ll oblige this time with my potato eyes even though I look ridiculous:

(don’t ever say I don’t love the readers of weddingbee, look at me!)

I was a little scared to do this one because of my recent eyelash additions, so I just used this underneath my eyes, though you could probably do it on your lids too.  While I was using this though, I could feel the puffiness evaporating.  I really couldn’t believe it.  My eyes were majorly de-puffed after doing this.  It was a little messy because potatoes retain some water, which isn’t a good thing when it’s mixed with the lotion.  But it works!  My modification for next time might be potato slices (not grated) minus the moisturizer.  It would be a lot simpler and cleaner and maybe provide the same results.   Do any of you want to try this trick or the modified trick?

Up next?  Dark circles.  I saved the best for last!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

