happy go lucky wedding


Secrets of a Happy Marriage
January 11, 2010, 10:02 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

I’m not going to pretend that I know the secrets of a happy marriage, especially considering I’m not even married yet. But, Real Simple featured 6 couples who have been married for at least 50 years. Each of them shared secrets about what they do to make their marriage work. Some of them made me laugh and some of them made my heart smile.

The first couple is Betty and Louis:

Source

They’ve been married for 60 years and first got married when they were 20 years old.  Their car broke down as they left the wedding, but that has not impacted their marriage at all!  Some of the secrets they shared were:

“We don’t read newspapers at breakfast.  We talk to each other.”  

“My mother and daddy got along like peaches and cream.  You see that sort of example and try to do what they do.”

“We married young, but we were grounded.  To make it work, you need to have a good head on your shoulders-which even some 35 years olds don’t have.”

Next up, Ayako and Harold:

Source

They met when they were 17 and 19 respectively.  He didn’t speak a lick of Japanese and she English, but he knew that she was the most beautiful woman he’d ever seen and he had to make it work somehow.   My favorite secret of theirs was:

“Let her go shopping. More than once, I’ve left a garage sale and gone to get my truck to carry all her antiques home. But true to Japanese tradition, we tolerate and accept every part of each other’s personalities.”

June & Bill:

Source

Bill dated June’s sister before dating her, but they realized they were a better match, and her sister agreed.  The funniest quote of the bunch came from June and Bill:

“We don’t get in each other’s way.  I don’t challenge what Bill spends.  And he knows not to touch my computer.” 

“She always liked my legs, so I still wear shorts!” 

Imogene & Elmer Edwards:

Source

When Elmer was one and Imogene was 2 weeks old, he yelled, “I want that baby!”  His love for her continued in Elementary school, where he proposed to her with a ring from a Cracker Jack box.  But they didn’t get a real chance to date until Imogene was in college.  This couple is adorably sweet.  Their secrets were:

“Never stop courting. We always try to see each other the way we did in our early days, even though I sure look different from that girl he married!”

“Elmer always takes my hand and leads me across the parking lot like I’m his girl and he’s taking care of me.”

“I take Imogene’s hand and help her walk because otherwise she’s liable to fall down.”

For those of you that are married, what are some of your secrets?  If you’re not married, what do you think might be the secrets to making marriage work?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

