happy go lucky wedding


She’s Making You Wear Grey?
January 21, 2010, 10:47 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

Source

See that title up there?  It was an exact quote from a girl who was supposed to help one of my bridesmaids find a dress.  But I’m getting ahead of myself, let me start from the beginning.  See, at the beginning of my planning I went through quite a few colors and ideas for what I wanted the bridesmaids to wear.  Then suddenly it hit me.  Grey!  All of this was before I found the wonderful world of wedding blogs, including Weddingbee, so I didn’t realize just how popular that choice was.  I thought I’d stumbled onto something unique and different. 

 I was excited about what I thought was a unique color for my bridesmaids’ dresses, but I was a little worried about it.  I mean, usually the dress colors are bright and cheery, and only recently had I seen people warming up to the idea of black dresses.  So there we were scouting out what regular stores might have for dresses in the lovely shade of grey.   Now, usually I’m not one to ask for help; I like to browse the stores on my own, but this time I felt different.  I was a bride, excited about my first weddingish outing.  I wanted to share my excitement with the people around me. 

So I asked a girl at the store if she could help us find some grey dresses.  Said girl asked me what the dresses were for, and I told her that they were bridesmaid dresses.  And she said, “She’s making you wear grey”??  Now, I didn’t say for my wedding, but she still might assume that I was at the very least really good friends with the bride, which would be the reason I was shopping for a BRIDESMAID dress, but apparently that thought didn’t cross her mind.  I was so shocked by her comment though that I sheepishly said yes.  Thankfully though, my bridesmaid spoke up and said, “Yes, grey, and she’s the bride.  I think grey will look really great.”  At that point sales girl was really embarrassed and pointed us in the direction of where the horrid grey dresses might be located. 

After this shopping incident, I momentarily considered changing my grey dress idea, but then I realized that I was being silly.  There was no need to change my dress color because some uninformed sales lady made a comment.  Did anyone else experience comments based on their bridesmaid dress choices?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The photo and the story crack me up. It gave me great pleasure to tell her that you were the bride and I am happy to be wearing grey 🙂

Comment by Kim

Hahahahaha. What a d-bag salesperson. I think grey is FABULOUS.

Love,
I’m making them wear black.

Comment by Ashley




Leave a Reply

