happy go lucky wedding


My Diet Secret
March 2, 2010, 9:34 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

So, I’ve been good about keeping up with my JM workouts, but like many other brides, I’m always looking for anything else that will help me lose weight and look my best on my wedding day.  It’s even better if this magic thing that helps me lose weight does not require a lot of effort or changes to my routine because, well, I’m lazy and like my routine.  Recently, I learned about Yerba Mate tea. 

Source

 The tea is fair trade and contains 24 vitamins and minerals, 15 amino acids, lots of antioxidants and naturally occurring caffeine.  Their website says that the tea:

  • Helps Stimulate Focus and Clarity
  • Boosts Physical Energy
  • Traditionally Used to Support Weight Loss Programs that Include a Balanced Diet and Exercise
  • Aids Elimination
  • Contains Antioxidants
  • Fights Bad Breath

All of these are great benefits for drinking the tea, but for me, the major benefit was the weight loss part.  So, Yerba Mate has caffeine; less than coffee, but more than other teas.  However, it’s never made me feel jittery, nor have I ever felt like I was crashing after the caffeine effects wear off.  Also, it has been shown to increase metabolism and I think mine has increased, which is great because it has been notorious slow my entire  life no matter what I do.  And, it is also supposed to help to decrease appetite.  I haven’t noticed a huge difference in this but somehow I’ve lost weight.   At my shower this past weekend I had several people ask me what I’ve been doing, and most of them had seen me since starting the JM workout, so I think it has to be the tea!

I’m sure you’re all wondering about the taste.  To me, it’s really good.  But, I don’t ever put sugar or anything sweet in my tea, so maybe I’m not the best person to ask.  I’ve read that other people add Splenda or other no-calorie sweeteners to make the tea taste a little better, but I don’t think you need to do anything.  I’ve even told several people at my office about it and they went out and bought it immediately after I gave them a sample pack.  So it can’t be that bad, right?

And, it’s not too expensive either.  If you can find it in its loose form, that’s the cheapest route, but even in the tea bags it’s about $8/pack at my grocery store.  To me, it’s so worth it.  I am excited to keep using this and see what other health benefits come my way.

So, what are some of your diet secrets?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

nice! i also like that it’s fair trade. that’s awesome that the JM and tea are working for you!

Comment by Mina

yum! Mate is excellent! Plus it’s fun to drink in the traditional style with a gourd and straw. Your blog is so cute!

Comment by sarah




Leave a Reply

