happy go lucky wedding


Weather bites
May 2, 2010, 5:09 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

If you’ve watched our video trailer, then you know it rained on our wedding day.  And, if you’ve been following me, then you know I was supposed to have an outdoor ceremony underneath some gorgeous trees in the midst of a European style garden nestled right in the middle of Uptown Dallas.  Well, that didn’t happen. 

Let me give you a breakdown of how the day transpired. 

In the days leading up to the wedding, I psycho-checked all the normal weather sites: Weather, Accuweather, and Weather Underground.  And when I say psycho, I mean it.  I talked to my coordinator and she told me that I did not need to stress about the rain until it got to 90% chance of rain.  It was hovering between 30 and 60%.   So I stopped stressing.  Phew!  The day of the wedding though, I checked again.  And it was 90%.  I could feel the tears forming, and I texted bridesmaid Kim with only the words: “It’s 90%.”  She texted back to say her super phone (code for iPhone) said it was only 50%, so that’s what we were going to go by.  I wiped away my tears and let it go. 

Then, we were watching the news and on the radar was this giant, massive, rain storm with the colors red, orange and green all jumbled together.  My sister’s boyfriend had the remote and just said, “Well, it looks clear!”  and quickly changed the channel.  Then, my makeup and hair girl arrived and casually mentioned the word “rain” and she was told that “rain” was not a word we were going to say today. 

At this point the rain had held off and I started to think that maybe I could squeak through the day with no rain.  My internet was down so I couldn’t check the hour by hour forecast, which maybe was a good thing, and although I noticed the clouds, not a drop of rain had fallen from them.  Until we started heading to the venue…

Bridesmaid Sydney was driving and her car’s wipers come on automatically when the rain starts, and on they went.  I cried, and she wished for a moment that the automatic wipers could be disabled.  But we talked about what really mattered that day, and the rain wasn’t going to stop any of that.  At this point it was still just sprinkling, so I still had hope. 

Once we got to the venue, Mr. Fro Yo and I did our first look outside because the rain was holding off.  We took some amazing pictures with our bridal party, and I was all smiles.  However, my very organized planner was checking the hour by hour weather forecast and she knew that our 6:30 ceremony was the exact time the rain was supposed to start falling hard.  She made the call to move the ceremony inside and I cried.   I knew that we didn’t want to recreate the Bachelor wedding, and that it was definitely the right call to make, but I’d been planning an outdoor garden wedding for over a year. 

However, that was the last time I cried about the weather and I honestly stopped caring about the rain.  I’d done my first look and was on cloud nine that I was about to marry the person I love more than anything.  The ceremony was still beautiful, and I was so relieved that we had a backup plan.  I met 2 brides at our hotel that night that did not have a backup plan and their wedding memories were not quite as fond as mine. 

So, the point of this whole rambling post was to tell you that a backup plan is crucial.  No, I didn’t get exactly what I wanted, but I had something beautiful and dry, and I have so many happy memories from the day.  And because you made it this far, I’ll share a picture of our first look before the rain started:

Source: Modern Life Studios

Are you concerned about a backup plan for your venue?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

