happy go lucky wedding


Name Change Game
May 12, 2010, 8:07 am
Filed under: uncategorized

Before this whole marriage thing, I was Miss S, and now after considering whether or not to change my name, I decided that I wanted to take Mr. Fro Yo’s last name.  So now I’m Mrs. L. 

Source

I know this is a very personal issue and I can see reasons for each side (change vs. not change vs. hyphenated).  Had I decided to go the hyphenated way, my entire name would have been 36 letters long.  Yikes!  

However, changing my name is taking some getting used to.  Granted I’ve been married all of 3 weeks, so that’s to be expected.  But I’ve wanted to correct people on several occasions when they called me by new name.  In fact, I feel like I’m lying when I tell people my name now.  It takes me back to high school when I would doodle in class and play the name game where I would match up my first name with my crushes’ last name, only now it’s for real so there’s no need to blush if someone catches me doodling it. 

Currently, my wallet is a big mess of Miss S and Mrs. L with some credit cards and documentation reflecting the new last name and some the old.  I think even Mr. Fro Yo is having a hard time wrapping his mind around the whole thing.  I sent him a text saying, “I’m officially Mrs. L with the social security office.”  And he wrote back, “Ha. That looks weird.”  Aww, thanks honey! 

 I look forward to the day when it rolls of my tongue and I no longer have to stutter in meetings when I’m introducing myself, and when co-workers no longer introduce me to new employees and say, “This is Kelsey, I have no idea what her last name is anymore.”  When will that be?

Anyone else having some growing pains with your new last name?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

