happy go lucky wedding


The Ceremony that Wasn’t
October 3, 2010, 6:54 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

You may have noticed that it’s been a little while since my last recap.  I did have a busy week at work, but that’s only partially the reason.  The other part is that I’m sad about our ceremony.  The words were perfect, no one fell, and our handfasting ceremony was carried out without a glitch, so what the hell is my problem?  Well, it’s the location.  I envisioned a beautiful outdoor garden ceremony for over a year, and the weather just didn’t want to cooperate.  I even stayed away from the hive for a while after the wedding because I had major wedding jealousy.  I’m talking to you Mrs. Turtle!  That’s so lame of me especially when this community was so supportive during my whole planning process.  But, it just made me sad that our wedding ceremony wasn’t as I hoped.

I’ve had the hardest time getting over this part because everything else was scheduled to be indoor/outdoor, so it wasn’t a big deal if we were inside for dancing, it’s pretty much how I pictured it.  But the ceremony….ugh.  The one saving grace is that we did a first look outside, and all our bridal party picture outside.  During that time, my wedding coordinator, Lisa, came over to break the news to me that we were indeed going to move the ceremony in.  Her exact words were, “We’re not going to have a Bachelor moment here.”  She was so right.   I was just really sad.  So I cried.

And my niece hugged me.

But, then I was reminded that all that mattered was that we were getting married.  And, everyone was right.  So, I moved on, and the ceremony started.

The parents started it off.  First Mr. Fro Yo’s parents, then my mom and one of our ushers:

And then the groomsmen and the bridesmaids:

And the flower girls and ring bearers:

Then it was just my brother and me left

He walked me down the aisle and gave me away on behalf of my family:

We gazed at each other and said our vows:

And exchanged rings:

And got tied together:

And had our first kiss and hug as husband and wife!

We hugged and chatted with our bridal party:

And spent our first few minutes together as a newly married couple:

Up next, the party gets started!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

